top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArlene

Keeping Pilgrimage Alive

It's been over two years since I walked the Camino de Santiago with my daughter Rachel and a few friends. And I think this year I have done quite a few things to keep the Camino alive while walking at home. I wasn't intending to walk a Camino this year, but I know that Covid-19 is affecting the plans of many potential pilgrims.


How have I maintained that wonderful feeling of Pilgrimage? First, starting April 14th, I re-read a blog post here for each day of the Camino, so I got to relive it in my head. I also reviewed the photobook I made.

Second, I have been an active member of my local chapter of CCoP (Canadian Company of Pilgrims). In the Edmonton area, we have regular Saturday morning walks, and usually do a number of events each year. Most of those were cancelled this year, as they involve a roomful of pilgrims, many who like to hug! One of our members had a great idea though - and created a local pilgrim route (The Camino de Edmonton). This consists of 13 'stages' of trails, one each Saturday from September 5th to November 28th. The stages follow our city's river valley from the southwest to northeast, covering over 140 km of walking trails. Our group is very respectful of covid guidelines, maintaining distance and wearing masks when necessary.


Third, I joined an online community to do a virtual Camino. It is part of the Conqueror virtual series, there are several events to choose from. Check https://www.theconqueror.events/camino/ to learn more. This does cost money, but it is rewarding to enter your distance each time you do something active. I like to zoom in on the map to see where I am, and then use google street view to find some of the places we saw along the Way. I even convinced a few of my fellow pilgrims to join, so we can view each other's progress. I just finished, so am waiting patiently for my medal to arrive - YES, I even earned a medal for this event!


Fourth, I have discovered podcasts! While I walk and run at home (if I'm not with others) I like to listen to something on my phone. I was listening to music, then I listened to some audio books (one is a Camino Story - Two Steps Forward by Graeme Simsion and Anne Buist). Then I stumbled upon some Camino podcasts. My favourites: Camino de Santiago Pilgrim's Podcast with Bradley Chermside, The Camino Podcast with Dave Whitson, and My Camino the Podcast with Dan Mullins. It is lovely to listen to so many different Camino stories!


Fifth, I follow two You-tube channels: Ivar Revke, and Efren Gonzales. These are great, and Ivar is doing a live update each Monday, of the status in Spain during covid.


And sixth, I am using the Camino as a way to view my life in different ways. After returning from the Camino two years ago, I joined a personal development movement called The Master Key Experience. This is a six month course based on teachings of the 'illuminated ones' such as Ralph Waldo Emerson, Charles Haanel, Napoleon Hill, Emmet Fox, Og Mandino, and others. Part of the course includes writing a blog. Lucky me, I had some experience with this one! Well, this year (this is an ongoing program for many of us), I noticed the connection of this with the Camino.

"A pilgrimage is a journey, often into an unknown or foreign place, where a person goes in search of new or expanded meaning about their self, others, nature, or a higher good, through the experience.  It can lead to a personal transformation, after which the pilgrim returns to their daily life."  Wikipedia

So I am still on my own personal pilgrimage of self-discovery. If you want to read more about this, go to https://arlenelaskey.me/ and have a look at the blog posts starting

October 2, 2020 (or earlier ones if you are keen).


Today I felt like adding to this blog, but probably won't post here often until my next 'real' Camino, hopefully in 2022!?!?



bottom of page