top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArlene

Last bit of travel for a while

Updated: Jul 22, 2018

May 28 - June 2 - Prague


This is the last segment of my epic European adventure. The reason I went to Prague was to attend a company event. In early May there was a similar event in Florida, but I was in the middle of Spain at that time. However, when I looked at the calendar, the event in Prague worked out quite well. I even carved out one whole day to enjoy the city and do some walking tours (I had missed the walking). Prague is an amazing city - beautiful and very affordable. So much history too - the tour guides did a great job of bringing the history to life.


And what an event!!! The seminar in Florida was maybe 5-10% the size of the Prague event - 15,000 excited Lyconet marketers! No, this is not an ad for my company, just some observations.


The biggest groups were from Italy and Poland. Huge teams with a lot of team spirit. Almost every country (of 47) were represented. I think I was the only Canadian. I felt a bit (okay a lot) overwhelmed. And a bit like some days on the Camino, when all you heard was non-English speakers.


Probably the only Canadian at the event

Wow - the energy in the arena was outstanding! You couldn’t help but be swept up in the tide of positivity. I loved that.


We filled up the 02 arena in Prague!

This company knows how to put on a great event. The agenda included recognition, excellent training, exciting company news and programs, entertainment, motivational success stories from leaders, a visionary company leader who thinks everything about our company is “super sexy”, and some truly WOW moments (picture a Formula One race car being lowered from the ceiling)! It was all fabulous.


Yes, they lowered a Formula One race car from the ceiling!

And after hours there were optional events - a VIP party and a Presidents party. I went to one party, it was definitely outside my comfort zone, but I’m glad I went. I met some Australians and they kind of adopted me - it was refreshing to speak English. And I did talk to some Presidents (top rank in our company). They were very encouraging. One told me that he went to his first event by himself, then the next with 3. Now he had 300 at this event and he is near the top of the company. Wow!


But of course all the information and motivation gained at an event will not be of value unless acted upon. So now I need to go home and work. So this will be my last post here for a bit - maybe.


I hope to go back and clean up all the errors my thumbs made while working on a tiny phone screen, and add some photos that the lousy wifi connections wouldn’t allow. I also had a couple miscellaneous posts to add. (finally done in July).


Stay tuned. And if you want to visit and hear more about the adventure I would love to get together.


Thanks for sharing the journey. Remember my personal motto is: “Life is an adventure. Live in gratitude and enjoy every moment.”


37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page