top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArlene

Walking for a Gold Medal

Recently I walked a half marathon race.  I couldn’t help but compare it to the Camino.  I actually registered for this before leaving to Europe.  At the time I figured if I could walk every day for 20+ km, I should be able to do a walking half marathon.  Afterwards I wasn’t as sure, after all, that is a full day’s job on the Camino. But I did do the race.  It was not a “race walk” like you see on TV where the athletes have that funny gait.  This was a bit more relaxed. I started pretty fast, as did several other walkers, and kept up a good consistent pace throughout.  In fact, I even impressed myself. While walking I started to think:  “this is a bit like the Camino, with a few differences”.

  • I was walking about the same distance as I did many days.  However, what took all day I now did in just over 3 hours.

  • I was walking with a backpack/camelback, however this was just for water, so a fraction of the weight I had in Spain, that was sweet.

  • There were lots of hills, and a few nice views, but nothing as spectacular as the views from the mountaintops of France and Spain.

  • The locals were friendly and encouraging, but these ones were volunteers and other walkers (many with dogs) and joggers.  Instead of "Buenos Dias" and "Buen Camino", it was "Good Morning" and "Way to Go".

  • The refreshments were disappointing.  Instead of Café con Leche and tortilla Espanol, there was water and diluted Gatorade. To give them credit, there were hotdogs and bananas after we finished. 

  • Instead of following yellow arrows, I was guided by Running Room signs and arrows, as well as volunteers pointing the way.


  • At the end there was a finish line, and a medal.  Not quite as thrilling as a Camino Compostela certificate, but pretty sweet anyway.  Even better, I came in first in my age group so I got a gold medal! 

  • I did not have  a desire to get up and do it again the next day.


I have been enjoying walking in the city and surrounding areas, some with friends and some on my own. If any of you would like a walking partner, let me know.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page