top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArlene

May 13 - Day 30

Updated: Jul 21, 2018

Day 30 - La Laguna to Triacastela- 23 km


I didn’t have the best of nights. Upset stomach and several trips to the bathroom. Not sure if I caught a stomach bug or if I ate something bad. I did not have much appetite yesterday at supper time, that was my first clue - I have had a very healthy appetite the whole time so far. Luckily I had brought some Imodium along, that probably helped. I felt a bit weak this morning but okay, and decided to walk. Luckily we had sent our backpacks to again. So nice!


The weather today was crazy, the worst we have had so far. It was cold, we had rain, snow, sleet, and heavy fog. Some spectacular scenery but hard to enjoy when you are cold and can’t see much further than the path. As we got closer to Triacastela we did get some nice scenery and it wasn’t quite as cold. Looks like tomorrow will be wet also.


The first Galicia Camino marker. From here they have "Km to Santiago" numbers

We had some more uphill today, then lots of downhill. The downhill was not as steep as some of our other days. Oh, and this is our final mountain range to cross (of 3).


We stopped a couple of times, I had tea instead of cafe con leche due to my upset stomach. When I got in at the end of the day it took me a long time to warm up. We do have a private room today so appreciating that.


Closer to Triacastela the paths became lovely

Today is Mother’s Day at home. So today Rachel took care of her mom. Made sure I ate a bit and drank fluids. She did the laundry today and got me a blanket when I was cold. Such a nice daughter.


Our place today is the first one as you come into town. Usually we will wander a bit, but since the weather sucks, I think we will leave that for our walk tomorrow.


Today’s lesson: include Imodium in your packing list. You just never know. And we haven’t seen a farmacia in about 3 days.


Tea and bun 2€

Tea and bocadillo 3€

Tea and pastry 3€

Albergue 15€

Bag transport 5€

Supper 5€

44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page